IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT DESIGNATED BIOSECURITY AREAS IN THE NT

The Northern Territory (NT) Government, together with the Australian Government and the Land Councils, has put in place significant new measures to stop or slow the spread of COVID-19 and save lives. Already there are interstate border restrictions

(https://coronavirus.nt.gov.au/travel/domestic-travel) but now new biosecurity areas have been designated.

From 10.30pm (NT Time) Thursday 26 March 2020, anyone wishing to enter designated biosecurity areas will need to self-quarantine for 14 days <u>before</u> they can enter **or** demonstrate they are an essential worker (as defined on the https://coronavirus.nt.gov.au/community-advice/remote-communities/travel). Approvals can be sought for special circumstances, and applications for special circumstances will be approved by delegates of the NT Government, Australian Government and Land Councils.

This requirement was made by the Minister for Health under the Commonwealth's *Biosecurity Act* 2015 and includes residents of towns, remote communities and homelands in these areas.

DESIGNATED BIOSECURITY AREAS IN THE NORTHERN TERRITORY

The designated biosecurity areas are generally based on the remote Local Government Area boundaries with some additions and subtractions as set out below:

- Tiwi Islands
- West Arnhem
- East Arnhem, including:
 - o the Town of Nhulunbuy unincorporated LGA areas
 - o the Town of Alyangula unincorporated LGA areas
- West Daly
- Roper Gulf
- Victoria Daly (excluding the Pine Creek Ward)
- Barkly (excluding Tennant Creek)
- Central Desert
- McDonnell.

For the avoidance of doubt, the following are excluded from the designated biosecurity areas:

- pastoral properties not subject to exclusive native title
- the Local Government Areas of:
 - o Darwin
 - Palmerston
 - o Litchfield
 - o Coomalie
 - Wagait
 - o Belyuen
 - Katherine
 - Alice Springs.

A map will soon be available.

EAST ARNHEM DESIGNATED BIOSECURITY AREA and TRAVELLING INSIDE THE DESIGNATED BIOSECURITY AREAS

THE YOLNU REGION OF EAST ARNHEM

In practical terms, the **East Arnhem** designated biosecurity area includes:

- the Town of Nhulunbuy, industrial estate and all mining areas including the airport, Gove Port etc
- the remote Yolnu communities of Yirrkala, Gunyanara, Birritjimi, Galiwin'ku, Gapuwiyak, Milingimbi, Ramingining
- the many Yolnu homelands which surround these communities
- the Dhimurru Indigenous Protected Area (IPA) and recreation areas and the Laynhapuy and Marthakal Indigenous Protected Areas

Travel for Yolnu is allowed between the communities, homelands and the township of Nhulunbuy. HOWEVER, the government health advice is clear, DO NOT TRAVEL IF YOU DO NOT NEED TO – YOU ARE SAFER IN YOUR COMMUNITY OR HOMELANDS – only travel from place to place for important reasons like a health emergency. Always practice good hygiene, stay safe and slow the spread of coronavirus - https://coronavirus.nt.gov.au/stay-safe/slow-spread

Travel for non-Yolŋu people (Balanda) is more limited and focusses on making sure essential services and supplies continue to remote communities and homelands. Travel for non-Yolŋu people to the remote communities and homelands <u>within</u> the East Arnhem Biosecurity Area is restricted to only those who are 'essential' and who have a permit from the Northern Land Council. The essential travel is defined on this page https://coronavirus.nt.gov.au/community-advice/remote-communities/travel. To find out more about travel to a remote community in the Northern Territory, call 1800 518 189 or email remote.travel@nt.gov.au.

To be clear, whilst you might be an essential worker to enter a Biosecurity Area (like the East Arnhem Region), this does not give you approval to enter a remote community or homeland. You still must have a Land Council permit. If you travel out on the Central Arnhem Road, you must have a Northern Land Council permit – apply here https://www.nlc.org.au/. If you go to a Dhimurru recreation area you need a permit from Dhimurru – apply here http://www.dhimurru.com.au/permits.html. You must carry your permit with you at all times while travelling in these areas.

More specific advice about getting Approved Essential Remote Worker ID cards and Land Council permits to access remote communities and homelands will be provided very soon. Keep a look out on https://coronavirus.nt.gov.au/community-advice/remote-communities/travel.

THE ANINDILYAKWA REGION OF EAST ARNHEM

The East Arnhem designated biosecurity area also takes in Groote Eylandt and Bickerton Island, which include:

- the town of Alyangula, associated industrial areas and all mining areas including the airport, port etc.
- the Groote and Bickerton Island communities of Angurugu, Umbakumba and Milyakburra and satellite communities (homelands)

Travel for Anindilyakwa people **is allowed** between the remote communities, homelands and the township of Alyangula. **HOWEVER**, the government health and land council advice is clear **DO NOT TRAVEL IF YOU DO NOT NEED TO – YOU ARE SAFER IN YOUR COMMUNITY OR HOMELANDS** – only travel from place to place for important reasons like a health emergency. Always practice good hygiene, stay safe and slow the spread of coronavirus - https://coronavirus.nt.gov.au/stay-safe/slow-spread

Travel for non-Anindilyakwa people (Balanda) is more limited and focusses on making sure essential services and supplies continue to remote communities and homelands. Travel for non-Yolŋu people to the remote communities and homelands within the East Arnhem Biosecurity Area is restricted to only those who are 'essential' and who have a permit from the Anindilyakwa Land Council. The essential travel is defined on this page https://coronavirus.nt.gov.au/community-advice/remote-communities/travel. To find out more about travel to a remote community in the Northern Territory, call 1800 518 189 or email remote.travel@nt.gov.au.

The ALC, South32/GEMCO and the nt Government are also working on additional strategies for Groote Eylandt. For more information, contact Jesse Fatnowna at DCM on jesse.fatnowna@nt.gov.au.

WHEN YOU LEAVE THE DESIGNATED BIOSECURITY AREA

There are no restrictions on you leaving a designated biosecurity area. However, anyone wishing to enter or re-enter a designated biosecurity area will need to self-quarantine for 14 days <u>before</u> they can enter or demonstrate they are an essential worker (as defined on the https://coronavirus.nt.gov.au/community-advice/remote-communities/travel). Approvals can be sought for special circumstances, and applications for special circumstances will be considered by delegates of the NT Government, Australian Government and Land Councils. The process for this will be made clear soon.

MORE INFORMATION

The international, domestic, biosecurity designated area and remote community and homeland travel is a complex area and it's important that you get it right. If you are not sure, contact the Remote Travel Hotline on **1800 518 189** or email remote.travel@nt.gov.au.

More information, fact sheets and Q&As will be provided as they become available.